YouTube: how to automatically delete history?

Google continues to strengthen the privacy options of its apps. The company announced today that it has extended the deadline. Automatic deletion of YouTube activity history. At the same time, Google Maps Incognito mode, which was announced a few weeks ago, is officially available. Thanks to these new options, users have different leverages to better manage their privacy.

How to Automatically Delete YouTube Video History

The option is not directly integrated into the YouTube app. To automatically delete your history, you need to connect to “My Google Activity” from a web browser on a PC or smartphone:

  • Go directly to the configuration page by clicking this link
  • Then click on option Manage Events Then Choose to delete automatically
  • A popup window opens with three options: “Keep data until you manually delete it”, “keep 18 months” or “keep it for 3 months”.
  • Click Next, then OK and you’re done.

As can be seen, it is not possible to choose a period shorter than 3 months. The same goes for automatic deletion of web and location history. There’s still a nice margin still there, hoping Google will eventually offer a one-week, or even 24-hour, period for auto-delete daily. Alternatively, those who wish can also enable YouTube’s Incognito mode on their smartphones. This handy option, once enabled, does not keep a history of calls or videos viewed.

For those who want full discretion, this facility offers it right away and can also be activated temporarily only when needed.

In relation :  How to Enable YouTube Dark Mode in Chrome, Firefox or Edge