This article will explain how to use the ‘clear chat’ feature and other methods to permanently delete your messages from Snapchat.
How to Clear Snapchat Conversations
If you want to remove a Snapchat conversation, you can follow these steps:
- Open Snapchat.
- Tap the icon in the top left to access your profile screen.
- Tap Settings button in the top right.
- Scroll down and tap . clean speech button.
- Tap x next to the name of the conversation you want to remove.
- A confirmation screen will appear. If you are sure you want to delete the conversation, tap . Clear.
When you delete a conversation from the Friends screen, you cannot see the conversation history. If you believe there is valuable information in a chat, save everything before deleting it. Keep in mind, though, that Snapchat will tell the other person whether you’re having screen recording or screenshot conversations!
What Does ‘Clear Speech’ Do?
When you clear a conversation, you simply remove it from your own screen. The other user will be able to see the conversation until they delete the stream from their own stream. Deleting a Snapchat conversation on your phone will not delete it from other users’ accounts, so be aware of this before you go and delete your own copy of the conversation from your screen.
Deleting conversations streamlines your Friend screen and also helps the app run faster and more efficiently. Unnecessary data can consume Snapchat resources and cause the app to malfunction or run slower; so if your app is constantly slowing down or malfunctioning, you might want to consider clearing some conversations on your Friends screen.
How Do I Delete Saved Chats?
One thing that remains even after the conversation is deleted from the Friends screen is the saved messages in the conversation. You cannot delete these messages unless you save them and the other person saves them. If the other person has recorded a particular message, you’re probably out of luck.
However, if you want to remove the messages you saved, you can do it like this:
- Open the Friends screen and go to the chat containing the messages you want to remove.
- Scroll to the messages you want to deregister and tap on each one.
- The message will go from gray to normal and you will see ‘Unsaved’ to the left of the message.
- If it remains greyed out, it means that the other user has also recorded the message, and you cannot undo the recording unless the other person has also saved it.
When the message is not saved, it will be lost like all Snapchat content. When you exit the chat, the message will disappear forever.
If you want to keep your Snapchat organized and easy to use, you can clear all unnecessary conversations from your Friends page. Once you do this, you will no longer be able to see them, but other participants can still access it from their Snapchat profile. For a chat to disappear completely, all participants must clear it.
If you want to make a message unavailable to all participants of the chat, you can use the ‘delete chat’ option. But there is still a chance that they saw or saved the message before that. While deletion options are helpful, you should still message people responsibly.
Did any of the above options work for you? Got any other sweet Snapchat tips and tricks to share? Leave a message in the comments below.