What Does “Just Seen” Mean on Snapchat?

Snapchat is one of the most popular social media outlets available to users around the world today. Originally a platform that honored user privacy with disappearing messages, but now it’s more than that. Some privacy features and notifications are specific to the app to let your friends know where you are, whether you’ve responded to their messages and when you were last online.

What is “just seen”?

The ‘Currently seen’ notification on Snapchat is a Snap Maps message that tells you where a friend using the feature was last seen. This basically means that the other user is online while Snapchat is open. Other updates under users Bitmoji may say something like “12 minutes ago” meaning the user was recently active.

For those who haven’t turned off Snap Maps or permanently set it to Ghost Mode, this is one of the messages others will see when your presence is shown in the map feature.

If you’ve used Snap Maps, you’ll probably know that while the app is open, it will periodically update your location to selected friends or the wider world until you close Snapchat or use Ghost Mode. “Just seen” the app says when Snap Maps is updated with a location.

Paste Maps

To say that Snap Maps was initially controversial would be an understatement. While generally considered a must-have feature, privacy concerns about the amount of information you potentially share on Snapchat haven’t gone well. It still doesn’t exist in some circles, and some people refuse to use it altogether for that reason.

The security risk will be much less if you use it wisely and limit who can see your location to friends you really know. Otherwise, with Ghost Mode you can pick and choose who sees what.

To access Snap Maps, open Snapchat and zoom out on the main or camera screen; You can see who in your circle has enabled it. You will see your Bitmojis somewhere on the map screen. Zoom in on the map to get a better idea of ​​where they really are.

In relation :  How to Delete All Saved Messages on Snapchat at Once

If you want to say hello, tap their name on the map and tap Send or Request Location. Along with these two options, you should see a small Chat or Snap icon. Select it and you can say Hello to the person wherever they are. This only works if you follow each other. It doesn’t work for people you follow but don’t follow you. For example, celebrities or brands you follow won’t be visible or selectable unless you’re lucky enough to be followed back.

Snap Maps and privacy

Much of the controversy surrounding the original launch of Snap Maps was fear that everyone would know your location and do whatever they wanted with that information. That anger somewhat subsided when people learned of Ghost Mode, or its ability to restrict who sees what.

My friends still refuse to use it and it’s fine. I am happy to share elements of my life with my friends, but not everything. If you’re the same person and don’t know how to use Ghost Mode yet, here’s how to enable it.

  1. Open Snap Maps as usual.
  2. Select the gear icon to access Settings.
  3. Select Ghost Mode to turn it on.

This will allow you to use Snap Maps, but not share your location. You also cannot see the location of others. I think it’s a fair trade.

If you don’t want to turn the feature off completely, you can control who can see your location on Snap Maps if you want. In the same window where you entered Ghost Mode, you should have also seen ‘Who Can See My Location’. This lets you control who sees what on Snap Maps.

  1. Open Snap Maps as usual.
  2. Select the gear icon to access Settings.
  3. Select Who Can See My Location.
  4. Choose a setting from the options.

Your options here are Ghost Mode, My Friends, which requires you to follow each other instead of just following, My Friends Except, which should be self-explanatory, and These Friends Only.

If you choose the second option, select Next and you will be presented with a list of Snapchat friends you can select with a checkbox. Check the box next to each friend you’re not afraid to share your location with and select Finish.

Can Someone See My “Last Seen” Status?

As mentioned earlier, one of the best things about Snapchat is its privacy features. As long as you share your location with another user who is your friend, they will see your online activity status.

In relation :  How to Make a Post Malone Song on TikTok?

If you want to hide your online status, set your Settings to Ghost Mode or hide your location from that user. Aside from possible glitches, Snapchat only shows you online when the app is open. If you don’t want to hide your location from certain friends, the only way to hide your online activity is to avoid using the app.

Important privacy facts about Snap Maps

There are a few things you need to know about Snap Maps that might make it a little easier to use.

  • Your location is only updated when you use Snapchat and are not in Ghost Mode.
  • Snapchat will periodically remind you that Snap Maps is sharing your location so you don’t forget.
  • Only mutual friends can see each other’s location. They can’t be one-sided friends.
  • Snapchat deletes your location after a certain amount of time.
  • If you turn off the map, your last seen location will remain for up to 8 hours before it drops.

Sure Snap Maps might look a little creepy, but it’s not so bad if you know how to use it and protect your privacy while using it.

Do you use Snap Maps? Will one of your friends do it? Do you have any privacy concerns about using it? Tell us below!