WhatsApp is among the most popular messaging services in the world. But it is not necessary that you like the service. If you don’t like WhatsApp and want to quit it altogether, you can always delete your account.
It is always recommended to delete your WhatsApp account instead of deactivating it as it can be hacked. Here is how you can delete your WhatsApp account.
What Data Does WhatsApp Remove When Your Account Is Deleted?
Deleting your WhatsApp account will completely erase your data. According to the messaging platform, this will delete your message history and Google Drive or iCloud backup. It also deletes you from all WhatsApp groups you are a part of.
Since this is a complete wipe of your data, you may want to back up a few files or take a few screenshots of important messages.
Note that deleting your WhatsApp account will not affect any information you provide about your contacts. For example, the people you messaged on the platform will still have access to the chats. However, your account will no longer appear on their side.
In addition, messages and media lost on WhatsApp are automatically deleted after a certain period of time, meaning they cannot be used initially.
According to WhatsApp, they may store certain log data, but these are not tracked back to your account. They may also withhold information such as term violations, legal issues, and spam prevention efforts.
How to Delete Your WhatsApp Account
- Open WhatsApp.
- Tap gear icon to open settings
- To call Bill and continue.
- choose Delete my account.
- Enter your registered number and tap . Delete my account.
- You can provide a reason for deleting your account, but this is optional.
- Faucet Delete my account.
The last page serves as the final confirmation for your account deletion. WhatsApp will warn you that your account can no longer be recovered when you proceed, so think carefully first.
How Long Does It Take to Delete Your WhatsApp Account?
Once you initiate the account deletion, your Whatsapp account becomes unusable immediately. According to WhatsApp though, the whole process will take up to 90 days. Unlike other platforms, you can no longer recover your account after deleting it, even if the 90-day period has not expired.
Plan Your Account Deletion Accordingly
WhatsApp does not give any additional time when you delete your account. Make sure you don’t need it anymore when you start the deletion process. If deleting your account is because you’re being bombarded with spam, check out this guide on how to block spam messages on WhatsApp.