How to Delete All Saved Messages on Snapchat at Once

While Snapchat’s original purpose was to allow users to post pictures, videos, and messages that disappear after being seen, the platform has evolved to allow people to save messages.

Of course, many users are not very fond of this feature and are interested in learning how to delete all their saved messages on Snapchat.

Unfortunately, you cannot delete all your saved messages on Snapchat at once. There are no settings, extensions or third-party apps to help you do this.

However, you can manually delete your saved messages. Let’s take a look at how you can delete all your saved messages on Snapchat.

How to Delete a Saved Message on Snapchat

While it is not possible to delete all your messages at once, it is possible to delete individual messages.

When you want to record a specific message in a conversation, all you have to do is press and hold the message box. A pop-up window will appear giving you some options – select “Save in Chat”. The background of the recorded message turns gray.

It’s just as simple if a message isn’t saved. Just press and hold again. The background will return to normal and the message will be automatically deleted as usual when you reopen Snapchat.

However, sometimes you do, but when you return to Snapchat the message is still there – why is that?

There are two sides to every conversation, and if other person saved the message, they won’t disappear from your chat until you un-record it too.

So, if you didn’t save the message, but it’s still there, chances are the other party saved the message. The only way to get rid of this permanently would be to ask the other person to delete the message as well.

How to Delete a Conversation on Snapchat

If you are less interested in deleting the message from the history and more interested in tidying your feed, there is a relatively simple option that will allow you to drastically reduce your feed very quickly, and that is to delete all conversations.

In relation :  Snapchat - How to Move Your Emoji

Note that deleting a conversation will NOT delete recorded messages; it just removes the conversation from your screen. If you and the same person exchange more chat messages or snapshots, all saved messages will appear once again.

Still, if you’ve had a lot of conversations that you don’t want appearing in your feed, this is a good way to clean up your Snapchat.

Deleting conversations is pretty simple.

hungry Settings Go to the menu and follow these steps:

  1. scroll down Privacy Tap and tap on clean speech.
  2. A list of all your conversations will appear; tap on x next to the conversation you want to delete.
  3. Confirm your selection by tapping . Clear.

Restart Snapchat and go to your inbox to see if the chat is gone. There should be no traces of threads anywhere. Of course, this only removes the conversation from your device so the other person can continue the conversation.

Deleting Local Information

There are several third-party apps that let you clear your Snapchat conversations, but iMyFone Umate Pro seems to be the most popular. The software is capable enough to make sure all your conversations are completely over.

It can also remove other data you don’t want to see anymore, not only on Snapchat but pretty much any other app as well.

Here’s how to use the program to delete your entire Snapchat history from your iPhone.

  1. Install and run iMyFone Umate Pro on your PC or Mac.
  2. Connect your iOS device to computer.
  3. Hungry Delete Private Parts window, then select the Snapchat icon.
  4. click Delete now.

This will remove all private data on Snapchat including all your saved messages. If you want to do this for other apps as well, the fastest way Erase All Data choice. This will delete all private data on your iPhone so make sure you back up everything you need first.

Frequently Asked Questions

If I delete a chat, can the other user still see it?

Yes, if you clear a conversation instead of waiting for the message to expire, it will continue to be on the other users’ side for the allotted time. The only exception is if you delete the message without the recipient opening it.

Snapchat allows users to remember messages after sending them. All you have to do is long-press the message in question and tap ‘Delete’. A warning message will appear stating that the user can see that you have deleted something. Depending on how much you want to delete the message, click to confirm and the message will disappear at both ends.

In relation :  Does Snapchat Own the Photos I Post?

Will my chats disappear after 24 hours?

The time it takes for your chat to disappear depends on your settings. If you long press on the chat, you will see ‘Delete after viewing’ and ‘Delete within 24 hours’ options.

Can I delete my account to get rid of saved messages?

Of course, permanently deleting your account will also remove your messages. However, it does not remove the message for other users. Even though your profile will no longer exist, the app will continue to display what you post.

The only way to take messages with you is to first delete them using one of the methods we described above.

How do I know if someone else has saved my messages?

Snapchat messages usually disappear within a certain time frame (after reading or within 24 hours depending on users’ settings), so if your messages are still there after that time, they’ve been saved.

Saved messages also have a gray background instead of a solid white background. So, if you delete messages but their background is greyed out, chances are your Snapchat friend still has a copy.

Last word

The lack of mass delete options in Snapchat is probably a side effect of the app’s original purpose. There were times when the need to delete your saved messages was absurd because there were no saved messages. That was the whole purpose of the app in the first place.

So while it’s frustrating for users, Snapchat’s lack of deletion options probably won’t change anytime soon. If you discover an easy way to get rid of all your messages on Snapchat at once, feel free to share it in the comments section below.

Did you find this article helpful? If so, the good news: We have many more Snapchat resources for you to peruse!