How Do You Know If Someone Has Blocked You On Viber?

Can you tell if someone has blocked you on Viber? What’s happening? Is it blocked like on Facebook or Instagram? This page will tell you everything you need to know about blocking and being blocked on Viber.

Viber is a very reliable alternative to Skype or WhatsApp and is very popular in certain circles. It offers all the benefits of the other two apps with some extras. It has a user base that counts in the millions and a free and easy app that takes care of all the actions you’ll likely need in no time.

Because it’s a social app, you’ll have all the usual social elements to manage, including expectations, toxicity, and the awkward behavior some people adopt when online. Fortunately, Viber has all the usual tools for managing online interactions.

Has someone blocked you on Viber?

Like most social networks, Viber won’t notify you if you’re blocked. This can bring out all sorts of social awkwardness, so it’s a quieter process like on Instagram or Snapchat. There are some signs that you might be blocked though.

No more profile updates

If someone has blocked you on Viber, you will no longer see the updates when you browse their profile. If you know they are active on the network but this is not reflected in what you see, this is a sign that you may have been blocked.

Message not received notification

Usually when you send a message on Viber you will see a Delivered or Seen notification showing the status of the conversation. If you message someone and these notifications don’t appear, you may have been blocked. Messages sent to people who blocked you will remain as Sent or Unseen.

No interaction in group chat

If you’re both active in a group chat, you can send them a message this way. If they didn’t reply, they couldn’t see the message. If they didn’t see the message, they may have blocked you.

Confirming that someone has blocked you on Viber

You may have noticed that I used ‘could’ or ‘might’ above. This is because none of these are sure signs that you have been blocked. Other behaviors may have the same result, so it can be dangerous to jump to conclusions immediately with little evidence.

In relation :  Does Viber Notify Your Contacts When You Join?

If you suspect someone has blocked you on Viber, the best thing to do is to ask. If you know them on other social networks, ask them there. If you know them in real life, ask them there. Be polite, calm and just ask. You can phrase it to keep it out of conflict or to say it directly, as if you thought it was a Viber issue rather than a personality or behavior issue. You have to be the judge of how you approach him.

You may also have a friend who uses Viber to ask or message them. If they respond quickly to your friend’s message but never respond to yours, that’s a good sign that they’ve blocked you. If they don’t respond to your friend as well, it could be something completely different and not blocking at all.

How to block on Viber

If you’re on the opposite side of the equation and need to stop someone from harassing or abusing you, it’s very easy to do.

  1. Open the Menu at the bottom right.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy.
  3. At the top, select Block List and Add.
  4. Select the person you want to block.
  5. Confirm your selection by clicking the check icon.

If you later decide you want to interact with them again, repeat the above process but select Unblock instead of Add.

If you are being bothered by someone who is not in your contact list, such as spamming, you can also block them. When you receive a message from someone who is not in your contact list, you will see a notification allowing you to Add, Block or Block that person and report them.

Select Block and report if they are spamming you, or select Block if you know them but don’t want them as a person. If you want to change your mind, just follow the steps above to Unblock.

Blocking, ignoring and Disliking is a huge can of worms that most people try to avoid wherever possible. Sometimes you don’t have that option and stopping the behavior with a block is your only option. Now you know how to do it if this is happening to you.