iCloud: Disable Auto Upload to Photo Stream

If you have configured Photo Stream for iCloud on your Mac or Windows PC as we showed you, you may want to change one thing – automatic upload. This feature takes any picture you add to iPhoto or Aperture and automatically sends it to iCloud. This will help you sync your photos between two or more Macs. However, if you don’t want to upload a huge collection of RAW files, or if you don’t want to have all those images you import from your camera into iPhoto/Aperture clogging your Photo Stream album on your iOS devices, then you can turn this feature off in one go. two ways.

Turn Off Auto Upload

This works the same whether you use iPhoto or Aperture. Open the application’s Preferences by selecting the application name from the OS X menu bar and click Preferences. Select Photo Stream from the six tabs and uncheck the bottom box as below.

Now, photos you take with your iOS device will automatically be imported into your photo software, but photos you add to the software from a camera or other source won’t clog your iCloud storage.

photo stream

Turn Off Photo Stream

A more drastic alternative would be to turn off Photo Stream by disabling it in your Settings app. Maybe you are not interested in using Photo Stream to sync photos on your iOS device. This will save you some space.

Go to Settings on Mac. Then click iCloud and uncheck Photo Stream. You will see a warning like the one below. If you still want to turn it off, select Turn Off Photo Stream.

Photo Stream Disabled on iCloud Settings Page

In relation :  How to Use Multiple Photo Libraries on Mac
Moyens I/O Staff has motivated you, giving you tips on technology, personal development, lifestyle and strategies that will help you.