Snapchat is one of the most popular messaging apps out there, and we’ve already shared many Snapchat tips and tricks, including ways to take screenshots and disable Snap Maps without notifying the sender. And today, we focus on a single Snapchat issue that plagues most of its users. Snapchat has a privacy feature that allows its users to block anyone. However, there are times when as a user you want to know if you have been blocked by someone. So, if you are not getting a snapshot from a private contact, here is how you can find out if someone has blocked Snapchat.
3 Ways To Know If Someone Has Blocked You On Snapchat (2022)
1. Check your Snapchat contact list
The first thing you should do to find out if you have been blocked by someone is to check your Snapchat contact list. If you don’t see a specific contact listed on Snapchat, you most likely have been blocked.. Also, if the person uploads a story regularly, go ahead and check the Stories tab to see if there are any stories from the person. If there is no news from the person, it is another confirmation that you have been blocked.
You can check your contact list by tapping . “New chat” button on lower right corner of the chat screen.
2. Search for username
The next way is to try to search for the person by their username or full name. You can do this by going to the Camera viewfinder screen and pressing the call button. Try searching for the username and if you can’t find anyone with the username, it’s because you’ve been blocked. You can even see the username if you’ve been blocked very recently, but when you tap the add button, “Sorry! Username not found”.
3. Try sending a message
One last way is to try sending a message. If the person you think has blocked you is already in your chat list, you can try to message them. If you’re really blocked, your message will not be sent and you will receive a message saying “Failed to send – Tap to try again”..
Bonus Method: Ask a Friend or Create a New Account
There is another very basic way and that is if you and the person you think may have blocked you have a mutual friend. You can then ask your mutual friend to check if they are available on their Snapchat account, and if they are, it’s clear you’ve been blocked.
If you don’t want to ask anyone, you can do it yourself by creating a second account. Since creating an account on Snapchat doesn’t require you to enter a real email id (only needed if you want to verify your account), you can easily create a secondary account and then search for the user using their username. If they appear in your secondary account’s search results but not in your main account’s search results, It means you are blocked.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Can I message someone who blocked me?
No, you cannot send a message to someone who has blocked you on Snapchat. You will get an error message that says “Failed to send – Tap to try again”.
- How do you know if someone unfriended you on Snapchat?
You can check the snap score. If you can’t see it, the person has unfriended you. You can also open the chat and tap ‘View Friendship’.
- What does it mean if I can’t see someone’s Snap score?
If you can’t see someone’s Snap score, you’re not on their friend list. If you were able to see their ratings before, they probably unfriended you.
- When someone unfriends you on Snapchat, can they still see your story?
It depends on your privacy settings. If your story’s privacy is set to ‘Everyone’ instead of ‘My friends’, they can see your story.
- What does the gray arrow mean on Snapchat?
The gray arrow indicates that the person has blocked you or has not accepted your friend request.
- If you unfriend someone on Snapchat, will you lose the series?
No. Once you pass the 24-hour winning streak, you lose the streak. If you add the person within 24 hours and send a Snap, you can continue the series.
- Does blocking someone on Snapchat delete unopened snaps?
No. Snapchat does not delete unopened photos, and the recipient can still choose to open them.
- How do you block someone from seeing a snap you sent?
You cannot send back Snaps you have already sent. However, Snapchat has the option not to send the texts.
- Do Snapchats expire if they don’t open?
Snapchat deletes all unopened Snaps from its servers after 30 days.
- Can you unsubscribe Snapchat photos?
No, you cannot send Snaps on Snapchat.
- Can you see if a blocked number is trying to text you?
No, you can’t.
- Are blocked messages delivered when unblocked?
You cannot send messages when you are blocked on Snapchat.
Find out if you’ve been blocked on Snapchat
They’re the only way to find out if someone has blocked you on Snapchat. So stop living in confusion and find out if you are blocked. If you find another method that is not on the list but works, do share it with us in the comments section below.
If you liked this article, you’ll also like our article on how to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram. Also, if you can’t access your old accounts, don’t forget to check out our article on how to recover your Snapchat account.