Is Qatar the first Arab country to host the FIFA World Cup?

2022 FIFA World Cup It will be held in Qatar, the first Middle Eastern country to do so. In preparation for the 2022 World Cup, Qatar has invested billions of dollars in the development of a series of gymnasiums with state-of-the-art architectural and environmental practices, as well as significant economic and infrastructure improvements.

As the first World Cup not held in the northern hemisphere in the summer, Qatar is also preparing to break records. Surprisingly, it is the first Arab country to host the FIFA World Cup as the championship is scheduled to take place from late November to mid-December.

The final will take place on December 18, 2022, also Qatar’s National Day, and will be played in a shorter span of approximately 28 days.

Read More: The FIFA World Cup trophy: Everything you need to know about its history, significance and legacy

How did Qatar manage to become the host country of the event?

By establishing its bidding team in 2009, Qatar took the first step towards hosting the FIFA World Cup in 2022. Five contenders from Qatar, Australia, South Korea, Japan and the United States submitted bids for the coveted hosting rights. Following the vote by the FIFA Executive Committee in Zurich, Qatar was selected as the host country for the 2022 FIFA World Cup on December 2, 2010, according to FIFA.

What are the venues of the FIFA World Cup 2022?

Al Bayt Stadium, Khalifa International Stadium, Al Thumama Stadium, Ahmed Ben Ali Stadium, Lusail Stadium, Ras Abu Aboud Stadium, Education City Stadium and Al Janoub Stadium will all host the following eight stadiums.

Why is the popularity of stadiums where matches will be played in Qatar increasing?

In addition to its national stadium, the Khalifa Stadium, Qatar has built seven stadiums specifically for the World Cup. With the exception of Lusail Stadium, which has a seating capacity of 80,000, six other stadiums have already opened. The largest of these is the Lusail Stadium.

In relation :  'Dragon Ball': 40 years of the work will be celebrated with new anime and world tour

Why is the World Cup held in November?

Q 1665671586 1 - Moyens I/O
Is Qatar the first Arab country to host the FIFA World Cup? 4

The 2022 World Cup will take place in the Northern Hemisphere’s winter, which is a notable departure from the tournament’s usual timeline.

Due to the high average temperatures in Qatar in June and July, FIFA decided to relocate the championship game from its typical schedule, in hopes of providing a more comfortable environment for players and spectators.
Thus, the World Cup will coincide with the club season, which runs from August to May, and will upset the history of domestic leagues around the world, especially the English Premier League and other leagues in Europe.

When will the World Cup final be held?

Adobe Express 20221014 0040170 1 - Moyens I/O
Is Qatar the first Arab country to host the FIFA World Cup? 5

The 2022 World Cup final will be played on Sunday, December 18 at the Iconic Stadium in Lusail.
The World Cup final coincides with Al-Yawm al-Watani li-Qaar, or Qatar’s National Day, which commemorates the country’s unity in 1878.

Which countries are participating in the World Cup?

Adobe Express 20221014 0040060 1 - Moyens I/O
Is Qatar the first Arab country to host the FIFA World Cup? 6

Three years ago, the World Cup 2022 qualifying process began. Groups of competing teams from several continents competed. A total of 32 teams qualified. The teams that qualify for the group draw are listed below:

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales
Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan
Group F: Belgium, Ghana, Morocco, Croatia
Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
Group H: Portugal, Canada, Uruguay, South Korea

Also Read: This is why Lionel Messi has ‘little overload’ ahead of 2022 FIFA World Cup, according to Argentina teammate

Also Read: 2022 FIFA World Cup Prize Money: How Much Will Champions Earn?