Does Google Maps now report speed cameras in 44 countries and France?

This week, Google started rolling out a long-awaited speed camera reporting feature in Google Maps. Users in many countries have confirmed the effectiveness of the feature, making it possible to compile a non-exhaustive list of where it is currently available. Google has approved the list of countries eligible for it, and there are 44 of them. France is nowhere.

Google Maps: list of countries with speed camera signs

Like Waze, which lost this functionality in France, Google Maps does not allow you to view the exact location of speed cameras in France unless you go through a modified version of the app. Alternative danger zones to circumvent legal restrictions cannot be said to have been developed. For now, France is excluded for this reason. Here are the 44 countries approved by Google:

Australia, Brazil, USA, Canada, United Kingdom, India, Mexico, Russia, Japan, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia and Zimbabwe.

Also read : Waze, Coyote and other anti-radar apps will soon have to hide police checks

Google may decide to adapt its functionality in France by offering the option to report dangerous areas, as other radar warning devices have already done. There is another possibility: a Mod (modified version) of Google Maps To remove the restriction to display the exact location of speed cameras as in Waze.

In relation :  Using Favorites as iPhone Speed ​​Dial